Last weekend, I was a part of a film crew for a MA film at school! I had initially gotten onto the set for my production audio class, as the "final project" is just pictures and a little writing about our experiences on two seperate film sets this quarter.

I was really nervous going into it since I had never done sound on a set before. I was worried about screwing it up and ruining this film, since the sound is half the battle of a film. I was pleasantly surprised, though, since I was a part of a three person sound team. The mixer and my partner from class (who had gotten us on set) both had prior experience and once I got into it I realized I was worried about nothing. The three of us rotated positions throughout the weekend (boom op, mixer, and sound utility), so I got the hang of it really quickly and ended up really enjoying myself!

What was it about?

"Alice desperately searches for a shapeshifting fairy haunting her woods in hopes it will bring good fortune to their family."
- One Less Mouth to Feed Instagram

We filmed on location around 35 minutes outside Savannah on a large plot of land that the owner rents out exclusively for films. Apparently, the cabins we used and filmed inside of were built by Amazon for their Underground Railroad TV series!

The whole crew aside from the actors (with one student actor) was made of entirely students. The crew was a pleasure to work with and they were all wonderfully talented people!

I'm unsure if it will be free for public viewing, i.e. put on YouTube, but if it is, I will 100% update this page and leave the link! I'm genuinely excited to see how this turns out and had a lot of fun working on it.


click to enlarge!